Cell Phone vs. The Bible


I, like everyone else in this world get tons of email chain letters. Mostly I delete them and forget about them, but I have one family that sends them to me, and I always read them. They seem to only send the ones that make you say “Hmmm, that’s interesting” or “WOW, God is great!” Seems that they must have a filter on their computer that only allows the right email to be sent at the right time, so I thought I would share this email with you all, with the hope it makes you say, Hmm, that’s interesting and WOW, God is great.

 


 Ever wonder what would happen if we treated our Bible like we treat 
 our cell phone? 

What if we carried it around in our purses or pockets? 

What if we flipped through it several time a day? 

What if we turned back to go get it if we forgot it? 

What if we used it to receive messages from the text? 

What if we treated it like we couldn’t live without it? 

What if we gave it to kids as gifts? 

What if we used it when we traveled? 

What if we used it in case of emergency? 

This is something to make you go….hmm…where is my Bible? 

Oh, and one more thing.
Unlike our cell phone, we don’t have to worry about our Bible being
disconnected because Jesus already paid the bill.
 

Makes you stop and think ‘where are my priorities?

And no dropped calls…

 

Now that’s what I call a friends and family plan I can live with. We are funny people, we have at our hands the greatest tool to help make our lives better, yet we choose not to use it as we should. Instead we try to create new tools to make our lives better.

 Now I am not saying that we should all toss our cell phones in the trash, I for one would not know what I would do with myself, I love my cell phone… But I do think the email has a point; do we concern ourselves with our bible like we do with our cell phone? Do we spend hours looking over the new models of bibles before we purchase one? Most of us probably have one family bible, and if we are lucky our kids received one from the church to use in class. But we make sure our kid have a TV in their rooms and a gaming system along with the newest games. Once again I am not suggesting that that you get rid of all that, but I am suggesting that maybe we need to look at how we spend our money and time, could we not get a game and a bible as a gift, or a book on our faith along with the latest cell phone?

There are ways we can add God to the picture, with our removing the modern ways. It’s all a matter of balance.

So the next time you forget your cell phone, stop and think, did you also forget God, did you leave Jesus behind also?

Here are a few ideas to help keep Jesus and God in your everyday thoughts…

1.       Place a small bible in your car

2.       Hang a cross in your car or place a saint on your dash

3.       Add a bible or a religious magazine to your reading material in the bathroom

4.       Place small cards with bible verses on your bedroom door, or in your office or locker at school

5.       Write a reminder in your planner to say a quick prayer of thanksgiving to God

A short list of ideas, I am sure you could add to it, so please do, and leave a message for all to read with your ideas on small ways to keep Jesus in your life. And maybe we will start to remember that when we leave the house, we need Jesus with us, much more then we need our cell phones.

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Called by God, faith, Family, prayer, selfhelp and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Cell Phone vs. The Bible

  1. Joy Brady says:

    First heard this on tv and thought it was good to look it up on the internet. Glad I found this and I want to share it with my friends and family. My husband was the one that suggested we look this up on internet.

Leave a comment