Faith as a tree


To each of us faith is personal, it’s not something that we can really explain or really even share. Faith is a deep rooted emotion, its controls and is controlled at the same time.

 

Faith is not something we learn, nor is it something we can teach, it is not static but rather dynamic, and ever changing and growing. It is a living, breathing entity that exists with in you.

 

Faith is a gift that we receive so we can grow in our love and devotion to God, and faith allows us to receive other gifts from God.

 

Each one of us has the gift of faith, the only difference between me and you are how we decide to use that gift. Like any gift, left in its package it’s of no use to anyone.

 

To me, faith is the root of who I am. It is from the root that I grow, both up and down, like a tree whose roots grow deeper in to the soil, establishing a strong root system. A system that protects and feed the tree, and the tree also grows up and out, establishing new limbs and leafs, allowing the tree to absorb the life around it, and offering protection to others and it self. Faith, for me, is the same.

 

Like a tree, my faith has a root system, firmly planed in the ground of my Catholic faith, with a 2000 year old root system to feed me and secure me. And like the tree, I also grow up and out, branching off in to life, allowing the light and life of the world to feed me. Allowing each new experience to add a leaf to my limb; allowing each new adventure to add new branches, allowing life and light in to my system, feeding me and allowing me to grow. The canopy of my faith also protects others in my charge, and as a Catholic Christian, that is all of creation. Offering protection and cover; warmth and nourishment; offering the love of God and the heart of Christ, all under the canopy of faith that we created from our life experiences based in the root of our faith. The canopy also protects us, as we lead our way through life, through the winds of change, our canopy helps us deflect and bend as needed to remain strong and standing. The storms of life are kept from our vulnerable selves by leafs and branches we have created during our life.

 

And when the storms and winds of life relent, if our root system was strong and our canopy was full, we will exit with a few less leafs and maybe a missing limb or too, but all-in-all we will still be a strong tree, rooted in our faith, growing and reaching both, in to our past and in to our future.

 

Our faith will have helped us to weather life’s storms and dry spells; it will shelter us from the killing heat and the drowning waters. The gift of faith is a gift of true life, the gift of eternal life and a gift of complete and unconditional love.

 

Faith is given freely, but we must feed it, nurture it, and help it to grow, new faith, like a young tree, is fragile. Its roots are new and not established; its canopy is young and inexperienced. With out the tender care of you, the tree will die, and with out your care and love for your faith, it too will die.

 

Faith is like a tree, it takes time to establish a good root system, years to grow a canopy to protect others, and it self. But like a good tree, once it is established, it will keep growing.

 

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in catholic, church, faith, Life, Love, selfhelp and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Faith as a tree

  1. ashley says:

    I recently wanted a tattoo of a tree. A friend of mine wanted to know why and tree and the reasoning behind it. With words i was unable to give a valid answer. So that got me thinking. I knew why i wanted it but i wanted something deeper then just faith, roots, soil ……. and so on. So I started doing some research. I came upon your message here and it took my thoughts and put them on paper. There is no better way then to describe faith then like a tree. Bravo I applaud you for your wonderful outlook and talent. thank you I now have an answer for my friend!!!!

    ashley M.S.

  2. I can tell that this is not the first time you write about the topic. Why have you chosen it again?

  3. Paul Sposite says:

    Good question, I often write about the same issues or topics because I find new ways to try to expalin the concepts or lessons that need to be learned. When a new insight comes to me, I try to bring it to others, sometimes the new insight is on an old topic…

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « View Point: Paul

  5. Pingback: 2010 in Review « An American Point of View

  6. Christine says:

    It is a beautiful commentary…it fits well with my schools theme. I would love permission to use an adaptation of your blog in our yearbook. Please advise if this would be amenable. I thank you for your time and your sage words on faith.

Leave a comment