The Politics of Faith


It was a crazy week last week, A co-worker from Germany was in town, so I had to share my office space, and entertain him all week. Not that that’s a good reason to miss blogging, but it works for me.

So this week I am back in to it. Time to blog my little heart out.

This weekend our priest gave a little talk about how we are all called to serve, to offer up our gifts and talents for the betterment of our church. All-in-all a good idea, it all sounds like the thing to do. That is unless you are already involved in parish ministry, then that means you are already involved in the parish politics. And we all know that parish politics are the worst. They can make the politics of the presidential race look like kids play.

If we where to take out negative ads for parish ministries, they would put to shame any ad the  Obama or McCain  campaigns could ever think of. Parish politics are rough and tumble, and they can make you not want to volunteer, they can ever turn you off of the Catholic faith as a whole.

Now I am not stating this is only a Catholic problem, I have talked to a lot of other people from other religions and they state the same thing that the politics of faith get in the way of the true meaning of community.

The politics of faith…  An oxymoron if I ever heard one…

The sad part is that in most cases it’s due to the laziness of the parish priest. Why fight when you can give in. The loudest voice shall win. Thank God Jesus didn’t run his ministry this way.

Think about it, if Jesus ran his ministry this way, Judas would have gotten what he wanted, Jesus would have been a freedom fighter, he would have lead an army to over through the Romans and kicked them out of the Holy Land. Jesus would have been an earthy king!

An Earthly King! What a waste of his life that would have been, and how sad for us. We would not know the grace of God; we would not know the son of man. We would know a man how bowed down to the pressures of those around us.

So why bother to volunteer if all your going to get involved in is the politics of faith? Why waste your time? To put it simply and as plain as I can:

Because Jesus did!

We are all called to serve our fellow human beings, we are all called to serve a higher purpose then ourselves, or event the Church; we are called to serve God.

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Called by God, catholic, church, education, Ego, faith, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Politics of Faith

  1. Pingback: Pages tagged "rough and tumble"

Leave a Reply

