Trusting in the Church


You ever just sit down and read the bible, let the Holy Spirit move you, speak to you. I have had lots of people tell me that that the Holy Spirit talked to their heart about this or that. They alone know the truth of this or that passage, the Holy Spirit leads them to the truth, I am sure it can happen, and I am sure it has happened, but I am always weary of that.

The Catholic Church teaches that we need her to help us interpret the Holy Scripture, and the bible also teaches that. Look at 2 PT 1:20 “…that no prophecy of scripture is made by private interpretation.” It is stated clearly that we are not to interpret the scripture on our own, and with good reason. Think about it for a second, if we all interpreted the same passage, chances are we all will come up with something different. There is danger in that, a danger that can cause great harm to you and to others.

We, as a fallen race, will always error on our own side, skew the truth of the words to fit our needs and wants. It is our nature; we are sinners and what is to stop us from having the Holy Spirit tell us what we want to hear?

As for me, I will trust in the Catholic Church and her 2000 years of history and tradition, I will trust in the fact the Jesus established the Church and established the hierarchy of it. From the Seat of Peter Jesus rules his Church here on earth, and through the Church the Holy Scripture is interpreted and passed on to her members.

 When we read the bible, the word of God we are to allow the spirit to move us, to lead us in to understand, but we are not to interpret the meaning, but rather we are to look to the authority of the Church to discover the meaning. It is a humble servant that will relinquish his or her ego and allow the Church to teach them.

Our Fallen nature, our ego, interferes with the natural order, placing the self over others, replacing the God given with the self want. God established the Church as the teacher here on earth, who are we to decide that we have a better way, who are we to question God?

I have given one passage but there are many that support this, Jesus knew of our weakness and He established for us the Church, the one and true Holy Catholic Church, to guide us and teach us, to interpret the Holy Word for us and to pass on the Sacred Traditions to us. I will trust in Him, and follow His command; I will submit myself to the Church and Her teachings and trust that Jesus knows what He is doing.

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in catholic, church, education, Ego, faith, prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trusting in the Church

  1. Theresa says:

    We must be careful not to allow this correct attitude to become a reason not to read the Bible. The Church has many wonderful resources to help us understand what we are reading but the bottom line is we must read the Bible.

  2. watcat says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

Leave a comment