God’s Top Ten List


Like a stream is the king’s heart in the hand of the LORD;
wherever it pleases him, he directs it.All the ways of a man may be right in his own eyes,
but it is the LORD who proves hearts.
To do what is right and just
is more acceptable to the LORD than sacrifice.

Haughty eyes and a proud heart–
the tillage of the wicked is sin.

The plans of the diligent are sure of profit,
but all rash haste leads certainly to poverty.

Whoever makes a fortune by a lying tongue
is chasing a bubble over deadly snares.

The soul of the wicked man desires evil;
his neighbor finds no pity in his eyes.

When the arrogant man is punished, the simple are the wiser;
when the wise man is instructed, he gains knowledge.

The just man appraises the house of the wicked:
there is one who brings down the wicked to ruin.

He who shuts his ear to the cry of the poor
will himself also call and not be heard.
 

 

 
 

 

 

When I decided I was going to start to blog, I did some reading up on what makes a good blog. Like everything else I found 10,000000 different answers. Some told me to write it like an article for a magazine or newspaper, others said it should be like your personal journal, just online, and yet others stated that it should be a quick list, the top ten for this and for that. Well in my blog I try to do a little of each.

Today’s first reading is much like a top ten list, listing for us attributes of humans. Then followed up with the Gospel where Jesus seems to be tying it all together.

 

Lk 8:19-21The mother of Jesus and his brothers came to him
but were unable to join him because of the crowd.
He was told, “Your mother and your brothers are standing outside
and they wish to see you.”
He said to them in reply, “My mother and my brothers
are those who hear the word of God and act on it.”
 

 

 

It makes you think, there are hundreds of years between the old and New Testament, yet the old always seems to be pointing to the new, to Jesus.  Makes you wonder how anyone can claim that the bible is just a popular book written by a very talented author or maybe several over hundreds of years. How can anyone not see the hand of God in all this? I just don’t understand, but I do have a theory why people don’t believe.

It’s a simple theory, to believe in God would mean that you have to unselfish; you have to think of yourself as not the be-all to end-all. You have to admit that there is a power greater then you, one that knows all and one that you have to answer to for all your deeds.

Having faith takes a lot of work, requires us to process information differently, we have to use the litmus test of what would Jesus Do, or How does God see it. The test requires us to place ourselves in the hand of God, to depend on Him and his divine mercy. If I choose not to believe in God, then I have no test to pass, nor do I have to depend upon anyone. It makes my life easier and allows me to do as I wish, because I have no one I must answer to. There is no after life for me to concern myself with, so the only life need to worry about is this one, so I might as well enjoy it.

It can be a compelling argument at times. Its hard work being a Christian, lots is required from us, yet we often see very little in return. Yet we know that our payment is in heaven, but being human and living in a culture of “I want it now” it’s hard to always wait for the reward.

So God, in his wisdom gave us the Bible, a book full of wisdom on how to conduct our lives. And in today’s readings He gives us the Top Ten (well ok, the Top Nine) list of attributes and the outcome of living such attributes.

This Top Nine list would be one worth printing off and placing somewhere, like your bedroom door, so each morning you are reminded how to conduct your life. But that can also be said for many passages from the bible, so maybe you need to start a rotation, a new door passage each week. That way you are always being reminded of Gods wisdom, and our frailties.

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in catholic, church, Ego, faith, Life, selfhelp and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

