It’s 7 O’Clock


“It’s seven O’clock; do you know where your child is?” Do you remember that public service announcement? It use to be on TV all the time, I think back in the 1970’s or so.  I remember it because I was young and thought I was being very smart and funny by responding to the TV “I’m and here, where are you?” I know not very funny but to a preteen it was, or at least at that time I thought it was.

I just read my friends blog and she referred back to the 1970’s in her blog, and for whatever reason made me think of that announcement. Now her blog had nothing to do with and never mentioned this announcement, so I am not sure why my brain drifted there, but it did. So here I go…

I can hear God asking that question, slightly different but the same basic idea “It’s 2009, do you know where my children are?” God is calling us, has been for all of eternity, yet some of us still fail to hear him, or we respond the way I did as a child “I am here, where are you?”

God has never moved, he has never left our side, yet we still seem to “lose” him, you ever hear someone say “I found Jesus”, my first reaction is “I never knew he was lost”.  We always seem to place the burden on others, on Him, like it was Jesus who was hard to find or God moved on us and didn’t send us a new address or something. Kind of silly if you think about it, but that’s humans for you, it’s never our fault; it’s always someone else’s, in this case Gods or Jesus’.

Kind of childish of us, to place all the blame on them ain’t it? We expect God to do all the work and for us. We don’t want to work at it; we are too busy to be bothered with all that. We work 8 hours a day, than have to take the kids here and there, cook dinner and clean up, I mean there are only so many hours in a day, God has more time than we do, let Him do it. Once again kinda silly on our part, but we are only human.

Ever think God gets sick of that excuse, “Sorry God, but I’m only human, what do you expect of me?” I know I would, I know that when kids give me excuse like that, I get upset. Not because I expect them to be perfect, but because excuse like that are used all too often as an easy out, away of not doing what is expected. Example: Your child was to take out the garbage, they forget, you say to them “You forgot to take out the garbage” they respond “Oh, well I wanted to start on my homework first” Sounds good at first, but in truth it’s just an excuse, the 5 minutes it would have take to take out the garbage would not have made any difference in the homework. I have often times told that to the young man that lives with me, and remind him that I too can “forget” things, like taking him to play or giving him money or cooking dinner. It is amazing how fast they learn to remember to do what it is they do not want to do.

Maybe God needs to take that approach with us, when we pray and ask God where he has been, maybe God should respond with “Well let’s see, the last time you prayed was 3 months ago, and your excuse was you forget, your to busy, well I was too, I also forgot to answer your prayers.”

Not very God like I know, but you get my point, yes we are human, and yes we will forget, but being human is not an excuse, it is who we are, and we are called to perfect this human condition, not to make excuse for it.

I know that if I was God, I would be sick of hear it, and I would let you know… Hmm, looking at the state of the world today, maybe God has let us know… Just a thought…

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Called by God, education, faith, Life, prayer, selfhelp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

