Please Pray for my Family


Christmas is a time of healing; it is when God sent us His son to free us all from our sins. It is a time of great joy, when we as Christians are to celebrate the birth our savior, whom we hope to see one day.

But Christmas can also be a time of great sadness, a time to mourn the death of a loved one or of a friend. The emotions of great joy and great lost can seem over powering. Today is such a day for me. Christmas is only a few days away, yet today I must deal with the loss of my nephew.

This morning I was woken up at 5:25 with a phone call from my older brother, his eldest son, Aaron was killed in an auto accident yesterday evening. Aaron was in his mid-twenties, newly married and starting a new life with his wife. This would have been their first Christmas together and man and wife, yet God allowed Aaron to be taken home.

My brother called me with great pain in his heart and voice, with sadness that was etched in to his soul, and I, as his brother could offer no words to heal him, I could offer no comfort.

Christmas is a time to heal our souls, to make ready for the Lord, but it seems hard to do so when you have just lost a soul so young. But I dare not question God, his wisdom is far greater than mine, but I do not understand his wisdom. And sometimes, just sometimes, I would like God to explain Himself to me, to let me in on Him plans. The frustration, hurt and anger I feel is deep within, and only God knows why.

Over the weekend I also received an email from a friend of mine, her 28 year old son just passed away from cancer, he leaves behind an 8 month year old son and a wife. I was saddened to hear the news, and I thanked God that my family was safe and sound. As it turns out, I now will have 2 young men to pray for, and families to offer my love and understanding to. When I told my sister about my friend’s son, my last statement was “For the grace of God go I” and I truly believe that, for each day I live here on this earth, it is only because of the grace of God. And I am truly thankful! But once again, I only wish God would let me in on his plan, help to heal the pain of loss.

If any of you have read my blog before, you will know that I lost both of my parents around Christmas time, now I add to this list my young nephew Aaron, Please pray for him, and his family.

Father in heaven,

I know you have a plan

I know your love and mercy are greater than I could ever understand

I ask this day that you look over my family,

And bless them.

Send the Holy Spirit to comfort us,

And Holy Mother Mary,

Teach us to except Gods will in all we do,

As you have accepted Gods will in all you do.

Amen

 

God Bless and Merry Christmas

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Called by God, catholic, church, faith, Family, friendship, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Please Pray for my Family

  1. Theresa says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Your words and pray was heartfelt and touch me as I too face losses in my life. Not recent as yours but we all know sorrow during the holidays as we remember those who are no longer with us to share in these and other moments. My prayers are with you and the entire family

  2. Marvin says:

    May we all face pain with the submission of Christ, especially during the agony in the garden; which we commemorate as the first sorrowful mystery of the Rosary.

    In times like this, the Rosary is my refuge. I always finish it with greater peace and reassurance in my heart.

    I know it can be for you and your family as well.

Leave a Reply

