Come


Jesus told Peter, “Come” and Peter did, he went to Jesus, but then he let the world interfere and he faltered.

We are all like Peter, in some way, I think that is why so many people love Saint Peter, and he was always messing up in one way or another. In Sundays Gospel reading Peter asked Jesus to call him, to command him to walk on water. So Jesus did, Jesus said “Come” a simple word, but a powerful one. Peter got out of the boat and started to walk to Jesus.

I bet Peters mind was full of thoughts at that moment – How cool is this – Wow, wait until I tell everyone – I’m walking on water! – Wait, I what? – How can this be? – I can’t walk on water… The mind is funny how it works, we are doing something, but just going along, and out of nowhere comes this little tiny voice, the one that tells us no we can’t. We know we should not listen to this voice, but we give in, we let it have power of Jesus, we allow it to control us.

That’s what Peter did, he allowed a small voice control him, he was fine, he was safe in the arms of Jesus, he who had called him, and told him to “Come”.

We allow the world to interfere, how many times has Jesus called to us, how many times has he said to us, “Come”? We hear it, we may even start down the path walking to Him, but then that small voice starts up, the one that tells us – He can’t be calling me, I’m not good enough for him to call me – He must be calling someone else—and we fail, we start to sink.

Peter never gave up hope on Jesus, just on himself. When Peter started to sink, he called out to Jesus, called for help and Jesus responded, Jesus helped Peter.

But then Jesus did something that most probably really don’t think about, re yelled at Peter. He told Peter that he had very little faith, that Peter failed himself that he sank because he allowed the world to get in his way.

How often do we do this, we create the problems we are, we allow the world to bring us down, and we allow the world to control us, when it is we who should control the world.

We create the situations we desire, and then we blame the world. Jesus called Peter on to the water, with the wind blowing and the rain falling, Jesus called Peter in to the storm, but Peter chose the storm over Jesus and started to sink.

Ye! Of little faith!

That is us, we are of little faith, we allow the storm to overtake us, and we fail to hear Jesus say “COME”. We fair not only ourselves, but we also fail Jesus, the one who calls us to him, the one who can calm the storm and keep us from sinking.

And Jesus said “Come” …

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith, Life, selfhelp and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

