Meetings


I hate meetings, for the most part they are a waste of time, but I have to attend them and sometimes I even have to host them. When I do have to host a meeting, I try to make them short sweet and to the point, in and out and all is good. But sometimes that just can’t happen; the people involved want the meeting to be a team building event or a social hour, so I have to go with the flow. Truth be told, I don’t mind the idol talk, but I hate mixing the two together, if it’s a meeting let’s get it done, in and out life is good, if it’s a social hour then leave the notes all at home, and let’s have a drink.

 My Job often calls me to meetings they are of no use to anyone, they lead to setting up other meetings, and I am convinced they get paid by how many meetings they hold each day. When I do run across a meeting that is useful, to the point and needed, I celebrate it.  I let anyone who will listen know that I just attended a useful meeting.

Time is limited, we only have so much of it in a day, and to waste it in a meeting that serves no purpose is, to me, one of the biggest waste of times out there. And it is not very considerate of others time. With people having more responsibility in today’s workplace than ever before, we all should be considerate of others time. A meeting for the sake of a meeting is of no use, to you or anyone else.

Time is a gift, one that we have received from God, and one that should not be taken lightly. None of us know when our last day will be here, when our last hour will be, but I know one thing, I do not want to go and meet God during a meeting.  To die in a meeting, to me would be the worst thing ever, I would rather die in a dentist chair than a meeting.

Consider this, do you think God is going to ask you how many meetings you attended? I think not, I don’t care if the meeting is how to stop global hunger, what God will ask you is, what do you do with your time, did you feed the hungry, visit the sick, or did you just have meetings about it? Think about it, sure attending the meeting may lead to a solution, but feeding someone today fixes the problem at least for today. Tomorrow is another day, and another chance to feed the hungry or to visit the sick. Each day is a new chance to solve the problem.

Now please understand, I know that some meetings are needed, and very useful, but I also know that some meetings have no real point. Now me being a meeting hater, I say that 99% of all meetings are not needed; a meeting lover would say that 99% of all meetings are needed but in reality I would say it’s around 50%. So if we would just stop having 50% of the meetings we would have more time to do, rather than just talking about it.

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in education, Life, selfhelp and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

