Gods Gifts


We all receive gifts from the Holy Sprit, some get wisdom, other get speaking in tongues, and still others the gift of healing. But I would venture to guess that most of us do not believe we have received a gift, that for some reason God chose not to give us one. I know at times I believe that. That for some reason God over looked me.

 

I see other people, their talents and say to myself… “Wish I could do that”. We all have done that, we all see the gifts of others, but not in ourselves. And the ones who do see it in them selves we often times say they are big headed, full of them selves.

 

I know God has given me many gifts, some I use and some I don’t even know about yet, and some I just don’t want to deal with. Each gift, each talent we have is a gift from God, and each one of them comes with great responsibility.

 

One of my gifts is dealing with middle school aged youth, for some reason I work well with them. Some would say that’s because I act just like them, and I would agree, I do, and I love it! But there is something more to it, something deeper that I really don’t understand. This age group seems to really connect to me, seems to really bond with me, with out much effort on my part.

 

Youth of this age open up to me, tell me things and share with me there souls and there true heart. It is a privilege for me and an honor. It is a responsibility I take to heart and one I take very seriously. But one that often times scares me and more then not overwhelms me.

 

Gifts from God are always free, given out of love, but each gift requires our involvement, somehow or someway we are to interact with God and his gift given freely to us. We are called to respond to it, to open it and to use it.

 

It is the using it and responding to it that is the hard part, the part of the gift that most people do not want. We like gifts, but we hate to hard work that the gift involves. We are raised to believe that a gift should not involve any work or at least not hard work, But God’s gifts do just that, they call us to task, and place on us a great responsibility to not only God and ourselves, but also to others, to all who will benefit from our gift.

 

The youth I deal with benefit from the gift God has given me, and I know and understand the great responsibility that places on me, and sometimes I even rise to the task at hand, but most of the time I fail, not from lack of trying, but rather from lack of ability, by the mere fact that I am human and of fallen nature.

 

I also understand that the youth are also using there gifts on me, be it humor or deep thought or just plane silliness, what ever the gift is, I am the benefactor, and I am privileged to receive it. And I treasure each and every moment I have that I spend with youth.

 

So yes, I know God has given me a gift, and yes I sometimes forget, but on the days I remember, I am truly thankful.

 

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith, Life, Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gods Gifts

  1. timglass says:

    God’s gifts to us are truly the gifts that keep on giving, if we allow them to.

    I’m glad you share a gift with us here!

    Blessings,
    Tim

  2. Hampers says:

    Thanks for sharing the information on gods gift. He is great. He has given you the talent to write blogs in such a beautiful way. He will surely bless you for this.

Leave a Reply

