Gimme, Gimme, Gimme


But I want it…

That is how we must sound to God sometimes, like a little spoiled brat! When we pray for thing, God knows what is best for us, but sometimes we still don’t care, we just want it, and that’s all there is to it. So we whine and pray some more, then we may even decide that God is picking on us. That God has decided just to mess with us.

How silly of us, and how very egotistic of us, to assume that God would single us out, to tourchure us, and tease us. Do we really think we are that special?

We basically, yes we do. Its part of our fallen nature, its our sin of pride, its our ego. Its us being human.

God responds to all our prayers, each and everyone, but sometimes its not the response we want, so we choose to ignore it, pretend like we didn’t hear it. Much like a child does when he is told to do something, like clean their room. When a parent speaks that language the ears of a child turn off, its as if we are speaking in an alien language.

Well that’s what we do when God does not respond they way we want, we turn our ears off, the voice of God can not be heard. Not really much different then a child is it?

No wonder God calls us children, at times (well most of the time when its concerning God and our prayer) we act like a child.

Dear God:

gimme gimme gimme,

I want this and that,

and I want it now!

I don’t know, maybe God needs to give us all a time out!

Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Ego, prayer, selfhelp, youth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gimme, Gimme, Gimme

  1. A time out indeed! I’ve given up asking God for things. Rather, I let God know through prayer that he created an amazing being, and as such, I have the drive and ability to summon strength and courage on this journey. Rather than a “gimme” I try to offer some gratitude. Good post!

Leave a Reply

