Be not Afraid… Well maybe a little


“Be Not Afraid” words we read and hear often in the bible. But really what do they mean? Be not afraid of what? Whom should I fear? And why should I not be afraid?

God tells us to not fear, for He is with us, but sometimes a little fear is a good thing, ain’t it? I think it’s good to be afraid of the water if you don’t know how to swim. God can be near me, but still, if I don’t know how to swim, what good is that? I should be afraid of a wild dog, I don;t know if it has rabies or not. So sometimes fear is good? But God tells us to not be afraid… This is not very clear to me…

Fear is a funny thing, we seek it. We ride the fastest and tallest  roller coaster, we jump off bridges with a bungee cord tied to us, and we sometimes trust in God. All of them have an element of fear, and we love to do them.

So you probably see the connection between the roller coaster, and bungee jump, they both involve putting our life on the line. We get the feeling that something could go wrong, the roller coaster car could jump the track, or the bungee cord could snap…. What ever the fear is, it has to be there or we would not do it. There would be no fun in it. But how does God fit in to that?

God will not jump off the track, nor will he snap, there is not a fear of something going wrong, but there is the fear of giving up yourself to Him, and that my friend is even more scary then the biggest tallest and fastest ride out there. God can give us the best ride of our life, if we let him.

Jesus tells us also, “Be Not Afraid” and “Has not my Father provided for you” His words ring true today as much at they did over 2000 years ago. But fear of the unknown, and trust in others are not easy to deal with. In-fact, sometimes placing our trust in others is the thing we fear the most. So God is asking of us something that by it’s very nature is fearful for us. He is asking us to trust in Him.  And with that trust we will not fall off the track, sure it will still have it’s ups and downs, flips and loops, with lots of screaming and laughing along with tears, but with trust in God we will not fall of the track, the track of life.

So Be not afraid… Unless it’s a really good ride that will give you a scare of the life time, then be very afraid, but have trust in the maker of the ride, have trust in God.

-Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

