Becoming


What do you want to be when you grow up? I bet you hate that question. But I know you are asked it.  I have asked that question of the teens and preteens in my life; and the response comes in one of two ways: the first being “I don’t know”, and the second is something like, sports star, movie star or some other high profile job. Its not often you hear someone say, “Oh, I think I want to be a toothbrush designer!” Jobs like that don’t sound very exciting or glamorous.

But we all have to decide one day what we want to do with our life. And the truth be told, we need sport stars and movie stars as well as toothbrush designers. Everyone needs to do something. But I think a more important question to ask would be what you want to become when you grow up. This question should be asked of everyone, regardless of age. All of us are in the state of becoming. But becoming what?

We can be anything we want to be. We can change our jobs anytime we want. Sports stars get old or injured and have to find something else to do.  They may get a new job as a sports reporter, or they may open up a restaurant. But they are the same person they have become. Let me see if I can state this a little more clearer.

As we grow up we learn and experience new things. These experiences help shape us, help us to determine how we want to be; what we want to become.  You may look at the latest rock star and think it would be cool to be like them. Meaning you want to be a rock star, but that’s not the same as I want to become them. 

Come and follow me, this was the call of Jesus to the disciples. The disciples where not called to simply get a job like Jesus, but rather they where called to become like Jesus. That is totally different, anyone can become a teacher.  All you need is the education. But to become like Jesus, that’s a different story, no education will give you that.  Becoming can not be learned, but rather it is experienced. The disciples lived the life with Jesus.  They didn’t take a course in it.

So how do we become? This is a hard question.  It’s like asking someone how they know anything, there is no one answer. To become is to experience life. This means that we are always in a state of becoming. We are always growing in the knowledge of who we are. When Jesus was 12 years old he stayed behind in the temple with out telling his parents, it took 3 days for his parents to find him. And when they did they asked him where he has been, Jesus responded with “Did you not know that I would have to be about my fathers business.”  But what really interested me was the end of the story; it stated that Jesus grew in his knowledge. To state it another way, Jesus grew in his becoming. Jesus was not born with all the knowledge of a 33 year old man, he had to grow in to that, had to become that. I am sure that as a 12 or 13 year old, Jesus would have rather been playing ball, then sitting in a class room and a nice spring day. I would bet that if they had Xbox back then, he would have wanted to play the latest fishing game. He was a boy, a teen age boy, just like we all where teenagers at one time. He had the same issues and concerns we do. The difference is he chooses to become a healer, a teacher and he chose not to become a con-man or anything else that would not serve his fellow people or God.

 We all have to choose what we become, and the best part of it is, we have the power to choose no one can do it for us!  So what do you want to become?

-Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith, Life, youth and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

