GodSpace


With Youtube and Myspace being a big part of life today, I thought it would be interesting to look at the value of websites like this.

 Social networking, as it’s called, sounds good. I mean it has to big words in it, social and networking. Both words imply that we are in contact with other humans and are working with each other. Providing for each other a needed service. And in the broadest use of the words, that’s what we are doing.

But if we look at it, really we are not. How many people can now say I have a friend in china, or I’m in love with someone in East Asia… They have never really had any contact with this person, except in chat rooms and emails, and maybe a video feed. Is this really someone you can call a friend? can you really love someone you have never seen in person? Many people will tell me yes. Then that means we would have to look at what we mean by friend and love. To me they would be more like acquittance’s, not friends and lovers. Both friendship and love take human interaction. And hitting keys on your keyboard does not really count as human interaction. Even a video file shared is not human interaction.

People say that the eyes are the window to the soul, so does that make the monitor the new eyes? Can you really read someone by the way they type a message? or what kind of wee-me they use? I don’t think so.

Both Youtube and Myspace serve a purpose, it allows real people to chat and share ideas and hold conversation. It allows real human friends to stay in touch, and allows young love a way to grow, but none of this would happen with out the real human contact, the face to face type of contact.

When I have a friend, I want to look them in the eye’s not in the monitor, I want to be able to give them a hug, not send them an icon that represents a hug.  When i hear a joke i really want to laugh, not type out lol, it’s the ability to connect that makes friends what they are….. friends.

Much like our relationship with God, it’s not the same to hear mass on the radio as it is to attend mass and to participate. To see the incense smoke and not smell it may be a good thing, but its not the same.

When God created Adam, he gave Adam all the animals of the earth to be his companions, but Adam was not happy with with that, he still felt something was missing. So God created Eve, and in Eve Adam was complete. If humans where not meant to have interactions with other humans, God would have set up a Myspace account for Adam, to allow him to chat with someone. But God, in his all smartness, created a human for Adam, someone Adam could talk to, hug and be with.

I am not saying we should not use Myspace or Youtube, I have gone on Youtube to watch videos, I will admit, I do not have a Myspace account, but I do visit Myspace to view accounts of some of my favorite singer and bands. So I think there is a use, but its not a replacement.

What we need to do is come up with new words for Myspace and Youtube “friends” maybe something like cybers, so I could say, I have a cyber that lives in the UK, and he is coming to the states for vacation, and we are going to meet for dinner… That way we all know that this person is someone you have never meat in real life and that they are just someone you chat with.. I don’t know, may be I am making to big of a thing of it, but to me, friends are people I can hit in the arm, or hug, not someone I can send a smile face to 🙂 ….

If you are interested in Myspace and Youtube, but really don’t like all the anti catholic stuff that goes on, try www.godtube.comIt’s a Christian site that is like Myspace and Youtube all in one. It’s a cool site…

-Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith, youth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

