Insecure Moment for Jesus?


“Peter, do you love me?” Jesus asked for the third time. How would you respond? Jesus seems to be asking Peter the same question over and over again, “Peter do you love me?” He asked him 3 times, and Peter responded yes each time “Yes Lord, you know I do”.

So was Jesus having an insecure moment, feeling like no one loved him, and he just needed his good friend to make him feel good. You know what I mean, we all have had days like that, days where we need to be told over and over again that we are loved, need and special. It’s a natural state of being. And Jesus was human, so that could have been why. But I really don’t think that was it.   Jesus used a word that has no translation in to English, the closes we can get to it is the word LOVE. But in truth, love is much too small of a word to use. If I may try to restate the question Jesus asked, it would be, “Peter, do you love me the same way I love you, the same way God loves you, a love like no other?” That is what Jesus was asking him. And all Peter could say back was “Yes I love you” Peter did not feel he could give Jesus the kind of love He was asking for. In the Gospel of John, Peter denies Jesus 3 times prior to Jesus dieing on the cross, it is after Jesus has risen that He ask Peter if he LOVES him. So as you can imagine Peter felt like he had failed his friend, so how could he, a mere human, LOVE Jesus as Jesus LOVES him.

It’s a question we all have to deal with, we all are called to LOVE as Jesus LOVED, but like Peter, we are all human, and we all have failed Jesus. But Jesus still calls us to LOVE; to LOVE our enemies, to LOVE our parents and to LOVE ourselves.

How would you respond to Jesus if He said “__(your name here)_____ Do you LOVE me?” Can you say “Yes Lord I LOVE you” or would it be “Yes Lord I love you”? It’s a question Jesus asked by bing nailed to the cross. And it’s a question God has placed on our hearts at the moment of our existence. 

So how do we Love as Jesus LOVES? It’s hard to love the teacher that just yelled at you, or the parent that seems not to hear you. Loving in just a human way is hard, but to LOVE as Jesus does seems imposable. But it can be done. People do it everyday, to one degree or another. Pope John Paul the great shown this kind of love when he forgave the man who tried to kill him, Mother Theresa did it when she took care of people dieing with aids. You do it when you listen to your friend for hours complaining about there parents when you would rather be out playing. Your parents do it when they take you to cedar point when they really can’t afford it. It is in small ways that we LOVE as Jesus. When you sit with the kid no one like at lunch time, when you bake cookies for a friend who had a bad day, when you smile for no reason at all. Lifeoffers us opportunities to LOVE all we need to do is take them.

God created us out of his LOVE, we are created from LOVE so we must have the ability to LOVE, it is part of our being.  So I choose to LOVE you as God has LOVED me, I may fail sometimes, but I choose to keep trying.

 -Paul

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in faith, Lent and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

