A Peanut Butter Lent


There is always something special about opening up something new. Like a new jar of peanut butter.  From the pop of the air tight cap being remover, to the smell of fresh peanut butter; it is wonderful. The smell seems to fill the whole room. It covers everything.  It is a one of my favorite things to do.  Okay, okay I know I am strange, but I just love the smell of it, and I love peanut butter. I could sit all day just opening up the jars, just to hear the sound and mostly to smell the smells.  It’s the sound of freshness. But just think about how it would be if you opened up a new jar and didn’t hear that pop sound, and didn’t smell that freshness. What a disappointment that wouldbe.

On Easter morning Mary Magdalene got up feeling very sad and lonely.  Her friend Jesus was killed for no reason.  Nothing seemed very fresh to her, and nothing had a pop to it. Life seemed to be more like a stale peanut butter sandwich to her then a fresh jar just being opened up. But she got up to set about her business.   She had to go to the tomb of her good friend. She needed to go back to the one who added that freshness and pop to her life. Just to be near him again would be wonderful, but now he is dead. So she went to the tomb of Jesus only to find that the tomb was empty. Talk about a bad and sad day getting worse. Not only was her friend dead, but now someone has taken him! There is no pop of freshness in that, in fact I am sure Mary though she would never hear that sound again. The freshness of life was probably something Mary thought she would never experience again.

The thing about life is that you can never be sure when that freshness will appear, or when that pop will be heard. As Mary sat next to the empty tomb crying, and trying to figure out how she was going to deal, a stranger came to her and asked her what she was crying for; who she was looking for. Mary told him what has happened: “Some one took my Lord”. In truth she was saying:  “Some one took the freshness of life from me. Someone took the pop out of life.  Can’t you see, the tomb is empty. I came here to just be near Him. To once again feel that freshness of life, but they have taken him!”

But as we know no one took Jesus.  He had risen.  HE was dead no longer. The Freshness of life was restored.  The pop was put back in to life.  It’s like ten thousand jars of peanut butter being opened all at once.  The smell of new life fills the room.  It penetrates everything. The pop is loud and resonating – the sound of the tomb being opened over 2000 years ago is still being heard today.

Mary no longer had to be sad; she no longer had to feel that life was stale. But rather, life was new and fresher then ever before. Jesus had restored the freshness of life, and the pop living! 

 

-Paul 

About Paul Sposite

Paul Sposite - Life Coach I began my career as an instructor. As an instructor there are two basic requirements. You have to know yourself, so you know where you’re drawing your inspiration from. And you have to actively listen to the others, and then respond to the subtext of what they are saying. In learning about myself I started to focus a lot on my students, how they learned, what questions they were asking and how I could best modify my methods to best serve them. I believe that if you use your real life problems/issues as insights to the issues you need to heal, you’ll grow. From my experience in the classroom, creating curriculum and material to support my training, I developed an interest in how people process information. This interest turned into my interest in Life Coaching.
This entry was posted in Lent and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

